Historic Buildings and Grounds
Historic Bethabara Park has a blend of archaeological sites, restored original buildings, and reconstructions. There are over 40 stabilized archaeological ruins throughout the park. Excavations done in the 1960s by Stanley South and a team of archaeologists further legitimized the study of American “new” or “processual” archaeology.
“Reconstruction” is returning a damaged or demolished building to a known earlier state using new materials. Reconstructions include the 1754 Village, the Community and Medicinal Gardens, and the Palisade Fort.
Restored Original Buildings
“Restoration” is repair work to bring a building to a historically accurate condition from one particular time period. Many of the original buildings at Bethabara have been restored over time. In the 1960s, a Queen Anne style house previously owned by the Pough family was restored back to its colonial appearance. Now known as the “Log House,” it has been reinterpreted to its original 1834 appearance. Along with the Log House (1834), original buildings include the Gemeinhaus (1788), The Potter’s House (1782), and The Brewer’s House (1803).
1754 Reconstructed Village 1754 Reconstructed Village | The Palisade | The Log House | The Brewer’s House | The Potter’s House | The Gemeinhaus The village is a reconstruction of buildings erected in 1754 and 1755 by the first eleven Moravians who arrived on the...read more